Triple R Soundscape: 20 May 2019

Soundscape is a weekly look at local and international releases making an impression on our musical radar. The list offers a cross section of EPs and albums arriving at the station.

We have been busily scouring the Soundscape! Check out some of our favourite finds for this week 20 May 2019

Amyl and the Sniffers - Amyl and the Sniffers (Flightless Records)**Album of the Week

The highly anticipated debut LP from the Melbourne punk rock crew follows the band's two now legendary EPs which launched them onto festival bills around the world. Like those earlier releases, the LP is a unique blend of classic punk, boogie and glam. The result is an urgent, captivating and energising release, set to set alight stages all over again.

Karen Marks - Cold Café (Efficient Space)

Efficient Space showcases the Melbourne artist's brief but entire discography, including her now internationally recognised 1981 minimal wave release, Cold Cafe, as well as two unreleased demos.

KNOMAD - Love And Politics Pt. 1 (Rhinoceros)

Written on Wurundjeri, Kooma and Tubbagah country, and recorded on Gadigal and Wangal country, Love and Politics Pt. 1 is the debut release from the Arrernte rapper. Part of a series of short releases, the tracks cover protest music, Aboriginal history and love stories.

Lucy Roleff - Left Open in a Room (Lost and Lonesome Recording Company)

The second release from the Melbourne based folk singer is sparse yet delicately and lovingly crafted with layered flute, acoustic guitar and most strikingly, a 36-string harp, all cradling the singer-songwriter's striking and sweeping voice.

Laneous - Monstera Deliciosa (Soul Has NoTempo/Special-Interest)

The debut album under the Laneous moniker follows nearly a decade of the prodigious Lachlan Mitchell making music, art and performing in his hometown Brisbane. Following a move to Melbourne, Mitchell begun a collaboration with members of Hiatus Kaiyote, Cactus Channel and Jazz Party to record Monstera Deliciosa, a funk-jazz opus which runs deep with musical reference from the likes of Martin Denny, Burt Bacharach, The Beach Boys and The Wu-Tang Clan.

Various Artists - Sad About The Times (Anthology Recordings/Mexican Summer)

Compiled by Mikey Youg (Total Control/Eddy Current Suppression Ring) and Keith Abrahamsson (Founder / Head of A&R at Anthology Recordings), Sad About the Times is a collection of North American 70s Jams, recorded at a time when high flying idealism had run it's course, and self-reflective singer songwriters were ascendent. This is a collection of songs which could have been hits, but had, until now, been lost in the cluttered and unsentimental cultural ladscape of the second half of the 20th century.

Angie - The Underling (Dero Arcade/Brain Drain)

The Underling's beginnings can be traced back to a chance encounter in Athens with the esteemed Greek producer John Vulagaris, who invited Angie to record at his studio. The album became the final chapter to her rock trilogy following 2013's Turning and 2015's Free Agent - "dirtly, sometimes desolate, yet hopeful and groovy rock and roll."

Shafiq Husayn  -  The Loop (EGLO Records)

The Loop is an epic, deeply collaborative project, seven years in the making by the legendary LA instrumentalist. Bringing together a vast and impressive array of LA and International jazz, funk and hiphop royalty including the likes fo Thundercat, Flying Lotus, Kamasi Washington, Erykah Bady, Hiatus Kaiyote and Fatima amongst others, The Loop is "a psychedelic concoction of time traveling drum machines, celestial string sections and trails of synthesizer vapour."

L.A. Mood - 'Breakfast at Sassy's' EP (Hotel Motel Records)

The Second EP from L.A. Mood, the solo project by Dave Mudie, the Melbourne based multi-instrumentalist, producer and prolific studio and touring drummer for the likes of Courtney Barnett, the Ronson Hangup and Danny Walsh. On Breakfast at Sassy's, Mudie crafts warm and familiar rock music, dropping influences from 60s guitar bands, 70s Psych and 00s indie-pop.

Prudence - Major Tom (FORGED ARTIFACTS/Future Popes)

Prudence is the solo project of Australian artist Tom Crandles, and with Major Tom, he lays down what he calls "a disaster of dissonance and melody", exploring the space between these binarys through a sometimes-post-punk sometimes-dream-pop aesthetic.