Triple R Soundscape: 19 November 2018

Soundscape is a weekly look at local and international releases making an impression on our musical radar. The list offers a cross section of EPs and albums arriving at the station.

We have been busily scouring the Soundscape! Check out some of our favourite finds for this week 19 November 2018

The Putbacks - The Putbacks (HopeStreet Recordings)**Album of the Week

The Putbacks new record is a slick triumph of rythm and texture, traversing the sounds of soul, funk, jazz and R&B. The Melbourne band, consisting of alumni from the likes of Hiatus Kaiyote, Bombay Royale, and The Black Arm Band, release this record off the heals of their fruitful collaboration with Emma Donovan.

Various Artists - Brainfeeder X (Brainfeeder/Inertia)

A 36 track compilation showcasing the last 10 years of the innovative and influential label founded by Flying Lotus.

Leikeli47 - Acrylic (Sony Music)

The second album from the enigmatic Brooklyn rapper combines fierce lyricism with moments of vulnerability, over a palatte of slick production and gritty-trap beatmaking.

Little Dragon - 'Lover Chanting' EP (Ninja Tune/Inertia)

The eclectic Swedish pop-duo's follow up to 2017s Season High and their first release on Nina Tune continues their trajectory of dynamic R&B vocals, disco beats and an overrarching mission of having fun.

The Limiñanas - I've Got Trouble in Mind Vol. 2 (because music)

The follow up to the much-loved Shadow People, I've Got Trouble.... is a collection of B-sides, rarities and covers from the French psych-rockers.

System W/ Nils Frahm - Plus (Morr Music)

Plus is a project two years in the making, combining the keyboard improvisations of Nils Frahm with the minimalist electronics of System to create a sonic ambience which is greater than the sum of it's parts.

More information here

Psycroptic - As the Kingdom Drowns (EVP Recordings)

The Tasmanian metal acts seventh album is also their most nuanced, efficient and accesible, honing their sound to a sharp and fierce edge.

Deena Abdelwahed - Khonnar (InFiné)

The first album from the Tunisian producer rallies against social injustices while combining combining club beats with arabic sounds. The deep thematic purpose of the record at no point overshadows the potency of her music, and her deep love and knowledge of club music is evident at every turn.

RS Produções - Bagdad Style (Príncipe)

Eight original compositons for the Rio de Moura based misic collective headed up by DJ and producer Narciso.

Bitumen - Discipline Reaction (Vacant Valley)

Debut album from the Melbourne post-punk group was recorded at magnet studios in Coburg following a period of mesmerising performances on the live circuit.