Triple R Soundscape: 18 March 2019

Soundscape is a weekly look at local and international releases making an impression on our musical radar. The list offers a cross section of EPs and albums arriving at the station

We have been busily scouring the Soundscape! Check out some of our favourite finds for this week 18 March 2019

U-Bahn - U-Bahn (Future Folklore Records)**Album of the Week

Released only months after their first Melbourne gig, U-Bahn's self-titled debut captures the energy and intensity of their live shows, trawling through the history of synth-punk, glam and new wave.

Pikelet - Goodbye (Babyrace Records/Bec Thompson)

After many years releasing stunningly crafted experimental folk-pop, Evelyn Ida Morris retires the Pikelet moniker with this release. It is a personal and heartfelt farewell fitting for a project beloved by many.

Chelsea Wilson - Chasing Gold (House Of Valarie Joan)

The Melbourne artist fuses her love of early disco, epic pop and jazz on her latest release featuring lush orchestration, sultry vocals and rollicking grooves.

Various Artists/Body Promise - Smooth Sensation (Body Promise)

Smooth Sensation marks the third and final installment in the Body Promise compilation series, compiling some of the most interesting mutaions of modern dance music from the Australian underground.

Huntly - Low Grade Buzz (Barely Dressed Records/Remote Control)

On their debut album, Huntly unapologetically embody their "doof you can cry to" manifesto, marrying vulnerable and introspective lyricism with drum and bass, pop, R&B and techno influences.

Karen O & Danger Mouse - LUX PRIMA (BMG/Positive Feedback)

The charismatic front-woman of the Yeah Yeah Yeah's teams up with the dynamic producer Brian Burton aka Danger Mouse to create a lush, cinematic epic, built around the strength of Karen O's astoundingly controlled and powerful vocals.

Fair Maiden - Oleander (Hysterical Records)

Fair Maiden is the moniker of Adelaide musician Ellen Carey. Backed by a talented line-up of prolific Australian artists, Oleander is a collection of dark, nostalgic folk-pop defined by Carey's memorable idyosincratic vocal prowess.

CHAI - PUNK (Heavenly/PIAS)

The Japanese quartet follow up their acclaimed 2017 release Pink, with the aptly titled Punk. Their sophomore is maximalist in every way, a sugar-rush of pop-punk, self-empowerment and an unapologetically feminist message.

The Cinematic Orchestra - To Beieve (Ninja Tune/Inertia)

Released 12 years after their last album Ma Fleur, To Believe is a collection of elegently constructed compositions taking influence from the contemporary US and UK jazz revival. Featuring contributions from the likes of Moses Sumney and Roots Manuva, To Believe asks what it means, in 2019, to believe.

Stephen Malkmus - Groove Denied (Matador/Remote Control)

The former frontman of Pavement and undisputed icon of indie-rock releases his long rumoured and once rejected "electronic album", his first release without his cohorts The Jicks. With Groove Denied, Malkmus takes on full production and instrumentation duties, creating a soundscape inspired by Berlin's nightlife, but also recalling late 70s post-punk.