the smilePlay Jump to playlist

Wall Of Eyes is the second album from UK band The Smile, made up of Radiohead members Jonny Greenwood and Thom Yorke with drummer Tom Skinner from revered jazz outfit Sons of Kemet, out now via XL Recordings/Remote Control.

Cinematic and rhythmic in equal measure, Wall of Eyes offers a kaleidoscopic vision from three music veterans operating at their most adventurous and unrestrained.

The project is a natural extension of each member's respective projects, coming together to create a musical alchemy that plays perfectly to the strengths of each member,  complemented with embellishments from the London Contemporary Orchestra.  

Wall of Eyes is sparser and more contemplative than the group's debut, with the band utilising restraint in order to let moments of transcendence emerge through kosmische-inspired jams, orchestral string arrangements and Yorke's vivid lyricism.

With Wall Of Eyes, The Smile cement their own musical path and loosen the remaining "supergroup" baggage that has lingered since the inception of the project. 

For the chance to win a vinyl merch pack of this week's Album Of The Week, Triple R subscribers can enter here before Sunday 4 February 2024. We have a prize policy of 1 album per subscriber per month so we can share the love and make it fair for all!

the smile

Wall Of Eyes

The Smile