Radiothon On Now


Radiothon On Now



Triple R Soundscape: 25 March 2019

Soundscape is a weekly look at local and international releases making an impression on our musical radar. The list offers a cross section of EPs and albums arriving at the station

We have been busily scouring the Soundscape! Check out some of our favourite finds for this week 25 March 2019

Huntly - Low Grade Buzz (Barely Dressed/Remote Control)**Album of the Week

The debut album from the Melbourne trio spans from minimalist club beats to maximal pop sounds, with subtle synth jams, dance ballands and drum n bass anthems. Low Grade Buzz explores queerness, identity, relationships and navigating personal and universal responsibility.

Nilüfer Yanya - Miss Universe (ATO Records)

The 23 year-old Londoner releases her debut album after a life-time of songwriting. Miss Universe is bigger and more ambitious than any of her previous work, combining the very 2019 sound of deconstructed R&B with a garage rock influence owed to early 21st century NYC bands.

Hemm - 'Make Me Stay A While so I Can Catch my Breath' EP (Spirit Level)

The Melbourne electronic duo weaves a lush, ambient soundscape with the brooding sounds of UK bass in this intimate and vulnerable release. The songs explore connection, power and relationships, both personally and in a broader context.

Koffee - 'Rapture' EP (Columbia Records)

Rapture is the debut EP from the talented Jamaican teenager Mikayla "Koffee" Simpson. The songs are infectious and hook-filled, with diverse sonic influences from reggae-revival to Nigerian afrobeats and ragga dancehall.

Jayda G - Significant Changes (Ninja Tune/Inertia)

The Berlin-based, Canadian house producer and vocalist combines her talents for writing hook-filled club bangers with her day-job as an environmental scientist. There are samples of biologist Misty Macduffee from her court case against the Canadian government for it's policies against Killer Whales, 'Orca's Reprise' which weaves in actual Orca Songs, all within a fun and propulsive dancefloor long-play.

Laurel Halo - DJ Kicks (!K7 Records)

The American experimental producer takes the reigns for the 68th edition of the DJ Kicks mix series, packing 29 disparate tracks into 60 minutes. Seven exclusives are featured here including tracks from Rrose, Machinewoman, FIT Siegel, Nick Leon, Ikonika as well as two of her own.

Avey Tare - Cows on Hourglass Pond (Domino/EMI)

Avey Tare, one third of influential American experimentalists Animal Collective, returns with his third solo LP. The shimmering, reverb drenched psycholelic folk songs combined with somewhat inpenetrable and bizarre lyricism conjures up a dream-like revisionist history of rural Americana.

Ex Hex - It's Real (Merge Records/Rocket Distribution)

Ex Hex follow up their critically acclaimed power-pop debut Rip with the more garage-rock focused It's Real. The D.C. trio mine the sounds of rock history, variously channelling the Ramones, Blondie and Patti Smith, while exploring the hardships of lost love while trying to stay connected.

Sleeper - The Modern Age (Independent/RiSH Publicity)

With The Modern Age, underground brit-pop heroes Sleeper release their first LP in 22 years. A distinctly nostalgic exercise, rather than seeking out a new direction Sleeper brings their decideldly 90s sound canvas into the 21st century with a retro collection of infectious ear-worms.

Blue Angels - Sue (UNO NYC)  

The enigmatic Maryland producer's latest release has an electronic sonic palette which follows in the footsteps of the likes of Burial and Arca, while incorporating folk and showgaze elements.