Triple R Soundscape: 25 February 2019

Soundscape is a weekly look at local and international releases making an impression on our musical radar. The list offers a cross section of EPs and albums arriving at the station

We have been busily scouring the Soundscape! Check out some of our favourite finds for this week 25 February 2019

Chaka Khan - Hello Happiness (Island/Universal)**Album of the Week

The 10 time Grammy Award winner returns with the Switch and Sarah Ruba Taylor produced Hello Happiness. Full of instant classics, Chaka Khan moves from blues-inflected New Orleans funk, slow dub grooves to soaring disco pop, creating a funk masterclass from an icon of the form.

V - So Pure (Brain Drain)

The debut full length from the Melbourne-via-Berlin aritist is a dark, analogue synth-driven journey through the human psyche which shows a perfectionists attention to detail.


Y La Bamba is the self-produced project of folk singer Luz Elena Mendoza. Performed in English and the Spanish of her Mexican-born parents, Mujeres traverses the sounds of dream pop, folk, dance and spoken-word poetry with a renewed confidence.

Julia Reidy - brace, brace (Slip)

The new album from the Berlin based Sydneysider is a stunning, introspective solo discourse rendered on a 12 string guitar, autotuned vocals and harmonica with mesmerising effect, like a fever dream.

Spellling - Mazy Fly (Sacred Bones)

Spellling, the haunting, unsettling project of Tia Cabral, traverses the landscape between dreams and waking life. Her second album Mazy Fly is expansive and wide-screen, like a gothic fairy tail.

Cumbia Cosmonauts - Cumbia Cosmonauts and the Radio Africa Band (Hawaii Bonsaire Records)

The long-awaited scond album, co-composed by Melboure-based West-African musicians Lamine Sonko, Amadou Kalissa and Olugbade Okunade, was four years in the making, with a distinctive and very danceable take on cumbia and tropical bass meets the tradition of the West African griots.

Bananagun - 'Do Yeah' 7" (Anti-Fade Records)

The debut 7" from the Melbourne quintet is a propulsive 60s jazz-psych jam session of African percussion, chanted lyrics and blasting horns.

Dominique Fils-Aimé - Stay Tuned! (Ensoul Records)

Stay Tuned! is part two of a trilogy from the powerful soul and gospel singer. Domique Fils-Aime delves into events which effected the course of black history and honours heroes of the civil rights movement in a sometimes intimate, sometimes furious tribute to the resilliance of mankind.

Martin Frawley - Undone at 31 (Merge Records)

The former front-man of Melbourne heroes Twerps releases his solo debut, candidly detailing the unwinding of a long-term relationship and the obstacles to conquer in it's aftermath. Co-produced by Angel Olsen collaborator Stewart Bronaugh, the tracks, despite the bleak subject matter often shimmer with the guitar-jangle and easy-pop songwriting recongisable from Twerps.

Pye Corner Audio - Hollow Earth (Ghost Box)

The latest from British electronic musician Martin Jenkins switches focus from the dark and deep mysteries of the universe on debut Stasis to focus fully on the physical planet, both above and beneath the ground.