Woody Mcdonald

The Cave feature image

Presents The Cave

Sonic prayers from the terrordome

Wig Wam Woody

How did you first connect with Triple R?

I was already a volunteer in the music department but never considered being on air. I was working full time so graveyards were tricky. But coming home from Pony late one night, I fell off my bike and fractured my arm, giving me a few weeks off and more time hanging round the station. I began doing one armed graveyards and never went back to work.

What/when was your first show?

Wig-Wam Bam, it started midnight ‘til two on a Wednesday night.

What's your favourite Triple R story?

When we cracked the 10,000th subscriber for the first time during a Radiothon. Without planning Kath, Tracee & Bec took over the show. Good fun.

Your favourite other Triple R program and why?

Changes every week but Skull Cave is a Friday ritual. I dig the late nights of Ollie Palmer's Thanks & Praise on Wednesday nights, brilliant mix of tunes.

What does Triple R mean to you?

It's one of the best radio stations in the world for one. A driving force behind the truly incredible live scene we have in Melbourne and it's a second family for all of us lonely announcers.

The studio door has accidentally jammed shut with you stuck inside. If there was only one CD in there with you what would you want it to be and why?

Trout Mask Replica! If it was your only record then you might actually get to the last song.

Woody Mcdonald’s programs

Latest episodes

The Cave – 21 June 2019

4pm Fri 21 Jun 2019

The Cave – 14 June 2019

4pm Fri 14 Jun 2019

The Cave – 7 June 2019

4pm Fri 7 Jun 2019

The Cave – 31 May 2019

4pm Fri 31 May 2019

The Cave – 24 May 2019

4pm Fri 24 May 2019

The Cave – 17 May 2019

4pm Fri 17 May 2019

The Cave – 10 May 2019

4pm Fri 10 May 2019

The Cave – 3 May 2019

4pm Fri 3 May 2019

The Cave – 26 April 2019

4pm Fri 26 Apr 2019

The Cave – 19 April 2019

4pm Fri 19 Apr 2019