Les Amazones d'Afrique - République AmazonePlay Jump to playlist

République Amazone is the debut from Les Amazones d’Afrique, an exceptional collective of West African musicians including Pamela Badjogo, Massan Coulibaly, Mariam Doumbia, Mamani Keita, Angélique Kidjo, Nneka, Mariam Koné, Rokia Koné, Kandia Kouyaté, and Mouneissa Tandina. The name of the group is both an homage to the Dahomey Amazons, women warriors in modern-day Benin who protected West African borders for almost 200 years, and a tribute to the first all-female pop music group in Guinea, Les Amazones de Guinée. The project is dedicated to raising awareness for women's rights, and campaigning for gender equality. Funds raised from the record are going to the Panzi Hospital (a Congolese hospital founded in 1999 to help female survivors of violence). Production is contributed by Doctor L, known for his collaborations with Tony Allen and Mbongwana Star, among others. Songs on the album offer a unique combination of traditional African jazz, griot traditions and blues with hip hop, dub, electronic, funk and soul sounds. 

Les Amazones d'Afrique - République Amazone

République Amazone

Les Amazones d'Afrique