“Flying Cowboys” - the music of Rickie Lee Jones. (arvo)


2:00 pmSunday, 16 May 2021


Memo Music Hall

88 Acland St, St Kilda VIC 3182

More details ↓

Melbourne band “Flying Cowboys” was born out of a love and respect for the song craft, arrangements and performances of the early album recordings of Rickie Lee Jones.

From 1979-1989, Rickie Lee Jones recorded four albums of purely original material, collaborating with artists and musicians such as Donald Fagen and Walter Becker (Steely Dan), Randy Newman, Michael MacDonald, the Brecker Brothers and Steve Gadd.

Playing a selection of songs from her self-titled Grammy nominated debut, plus “Pirates”, “The Magazine” and “Flying Cowboys”, this 9-piece band shines a light on these particular four albums, honouring the arrangements and performances captured on these recordings.

This show is not just for the Rickie Lee Jones fans, but for anyone who appreciates timeless, well-crafted music.

The band features a stellar line-up of Melbourne’s finest.

Janine Maunder – lead vocal

Kathleen Halloran – guitar

Brett Rosenberg – piano

Gavin Pearce – bass

Darryn Farrugia – drums

Harriett Allcroft – backing vocals

Sean Donehue – backing vocals

Andy O’Connell – saxophone

Kellie Santin – saxophone

Venue details