RRR Presents

Music Victoria Awards 2020

RRR Presents


7:00 pm-9:00 pmWednesday, 9 December


Melbourne Recital Centre

Corner Southbank Boulevard and Sturt Street, Melbourne

Live stream

Streamed live on the internet

See map

More details ↓
MVA 2020 final

Ahead of the 16th annual Music Victoria Awards this year, Music Victoria are pleased to reveal a killer lineup of acts set to grace our screens this December for the unique live-streamed event, which forms part of the Melbourne Music Week program, taking place on opening night. Announcing: beloved singer songwriter Alice Skye, dreamy Melbourne musician Elizabeth, acclaimed indie rock five-piece Rolling Blackouts Coastal Fever and the incredible synth-pop icon Simona Castricum. These artists will perform live from the Melbourne Recital Centre on Wednesday 9 December, to an intimate live audience of music industry professionals, and broadcast live to the public throughout Australia and the world.


Best Album
Cable Ties – Far Enough
Elizabeth – the wonderful world of nature
Rolling Blackouts Coastal Fever – Sideways to New Italy
RVG – Feral
Sampa The Great – The Return

Best Band
Amyl and The Sniffers
Cable Ties
King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard
Rolling Blackouts Coastal Fever

Best Song
Baker Boy – Move
Leah Senior – Evergreen
Mildlife – Rare Air
RVG – I Used To Love You
Sampa The Great – OMG

Best Solo Artist
Angie McMahon
Baker Boy
Courtney Barnett
Gordon Koang
Leah Senior
Sampa The Great
Simona Castricum
Sui Zhen

Best Musician
Amy Taylor (Amyl and The Sniffers)
Erica Dunn (Tropical Fuck Storm, Palm Springs, MOD CON)
Gareth Liddiard (Tropical Fuck Storm)
Gordon Koang
Jen Cloher (Dyson Stringer Cloher)
Romy Vager (RVG)
Sampa Tembo (Sampa The Great)
SilentJay (Sampa The Great, Mandarin Dreams)
Stu Mackenzie (King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard)
Tom Iansek (Big Scary, #1 Dads)

Best Breakthrough Act
Alice Skye
Grace Cummings
Nat Vazer
Pinch Points

Best Live Act
Amyl and The Sniffers
Cable Ties
Gordon Koang
Sampa The Great
The Teskey Brothers


Best Regional/Outer Suburban Act
Benny Walker (Echuca)
Bones and Jones (Geelong)
Freya Josephine Hollick (Ballarat)
The Kite Machine (Geelong West)
The Teskey Brothers (Warrandyte)

Archie Roach Foundation Award for Emerging Talent
Alice Skye
The Merindas
River Boy

Best Blues Album
Aaron Pollock – Separated Through Time
Charlie Bedford – Good to Go
Joey Vincent’s Bakelite Radio – Rosary of Tears
Lloyd Spiegel – Cut and Run
The Teskey Brothers – Live at The Forum

Best Country Album
The Cartwheels – Self-titled
Lost Ragas – This Is Not A Dream
Michael Waugh – The Weir
Mitch Dean – Holding Back the Levee
Tracy McNeil & The GoodLife – You Be The Lightning

Best Electronic Act
Simona Castricum
Sleep D

Best Experimental or Avant-garde Act
Bridget Chappell
James Rushford
Maria Moles
Natasha Anderson
Robin Fox

Best Folk Album
Charm of Finches – Your Company
Fiona Ross & Shane O'Mara – Sunwise Turn
Liz Frencham – Love and Other Crimes
Louisa Wise – All of These Things
Ruth Hazleton – Daisywheel

Best Heavy Album
Carcinoid – Metastatic Declination
Dead – Raving Drooling
Diploid – Glorify
Internal Rot – Grieving Birth
Sithlord – From Out of the Darkness

Best Hip Hop Act
Jordan Dennis
Sampa The Great

Best Intercultural Act
Amaru Tribe
Black Jesus Experience
Gelareh Pour's Garden
No Borders Music
Sampa The Great

Best Jazz Album
Andrea Keller – Life Is Brut[if]al
Horns of Leroy – Big Night
JK Group – The Young Ones
Vanessa Perica Orchestra – Love is a Temporary Madness
ZEDSIX – The Shape Of Jazz

Best Reggae and Dancehall Act
Dub FX
Jah Tung
Marvin Priest
Monkey Marc
The Push Reggae Band

Best Rock/Punk Album
Cable Ties – Far Enough
Nuada – Beneath the Swamp
Pseudo Mind Hive – Of Seers and Sirens
RVG – Feral
Shepparton Airplane – Sharks

Best Soul, Funk, Gospel or RnB Album
Karate Boogaloo – Carn The Boogers
Sampa The Great – The Return
Surprise Chef – All News Is Good News
The Teskey Brothers – Live at The Forum
Various Artists – Over Under Away Volume 1: 10 Years of Hopestreet Recordings

Best Small Venue (under 500 capacity) – The Gasometer Hotel, Collingwood
Best Large Venue (over 500 capacity) – Forum, Melbourne
Best Festival – Golden Plains
Best Regional/Outer Suburban Venue (Over 50 gigs per year) – Barwon Club Hotel, Geelong
Best Regional/Outer Suburban Venue (Under 50 gigs per year) – *Theatre Royal, Castlemaine
Outstanding Woman In Music – Sarah Hamilton (One Of One)
Best Producer – Joelistics: Mo’Ju & Joelistics Ghost Town EP

Mary Mihelakos (industry)
Chris Wilson (musician)

Venue details

  • Pin

    Live stream

    Streamed live on the internet

MVA 2020 final